Rifle Shooting GPS Premiership

Rifle Shooting

The Scots College’s 1st VIII Rifle Shooting team made Scots history, winning the GPS Shooting premiership for the first time in 30 years.

Year 12 Scots boys Max Lloyd (Captain), Will Proudford (Vice Captain), William Horton, William Sullivan, Calum Searle and Year 11 boys Barney White, Tom Hickman and Jock Bush shot their way to victory over two days, winning the competition outright by one centre bullseye.

Mr Phil Cooney, Master in Charge of Rifle Shooting at The Scots College described the competition as a “tightly fought battle”. Shooting at ranges between 300 to 600 meters, the boys produced “consistent scores of a national standard”, Mr Cooney said.

The boys presented their trophies — the Rawson Cup, the NRA Shield and the AAGPS Rifle Shooting Premiership Shield — to the Senior School last week in a moving assembly. In a new tradition started by the College this year, the Premiership winners were piped into the quadrangle by the College bagpipes and greeted by the entire Senior School singing Scotland the Brave.

Dr Ian PM Lambert, Principal of The Scots College said, “This spirit of camaraderie and shared team success is a core element of our educational philosophy at The Scots College. We look forward to continuing this tradition with future generations of GPS premiers.”

The competition also saw Tom Hickman and Jock Bush place third and fourth overall earning them selection in the combined GPS team.

Rifle Shooting at Scots is part of the College’s popular Cadets Co-Curricular Program which aims to foster qualities required to live with brave hearts and bold minds in the world such as discipline, respect, professionalism and standards, Mr Cooney said.
“The Cadets program emphasises service to the Nation, the College, the Unit and to comrades,” Mr Cooney said. “Cadets’ ethos of service is embodied in a set of shared values: the will to win, dedication to duty, honour, integrity, loyalty, mateship and teamwork.”

Tags: rifle, shooting

Mr Phil Cooney

Master in Charge of Rifle Shooting

02 9391 7600